HiLite staff members earn CSPA Gold Circle Awards for Online Media

Author Archives

HiLite staff members were recently awarded 18 Gold Circle Awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) for Online Media. Staff members placed in 12 categories, two in the Online Newsdivision and ten in the Online News Writing division. The annual Gold Circle Awards are awarded to “recognize superior work by student journalists.” Winners from CHS are listed below. To see a list of all winners, click here.


David Zheng and Arjuna Capulong – Sports news story

Arjuna Capulong and Steven Chen – News interactive graphic

Darlene Pham – News writing

Arjuna Capulong and Victor Xu – In-depth news/feature story

Victor Xu and Lizzy Grubbs – News feature


HiLite staff – Editorial writing

Adele Zhou – Personal opinion: Off-campus issues


Marianna Cooper – Personal opinion: On-campus issues

David Zheng – Personal opinion: Off-campus issues

Reuben Warshawsky – Sports commentary

Laura Peng – General feature

Certificate of Merit:

HiLite staff – News online design website

Grayson Harbour and Nina Underman – News writing

Victor Xu – In-depth news/feature story

Alex Mackall – Sports commentary

Reuben Warshawsky – Sports feature

Darlene Pham – General feature

Darlene Pham and Lizzy Grubbs – General feature