HiLite

Tailgate for Life separate from Homecoming

Author Archives

September 26, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Renny Logan <rlogan@hilite.org> Since its inception three years ago, Tailgate for Life has taken place the week of Homecoming. However, this year it took place on the day of the Aug. 31 football game instead. “(In previous years) Tailgate for Life was lost in the shuffle of Homecomi...

The Fall Look for Less

Author Archives

September 26, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Tim Chai <tchai@hilite.org> Fall fashion for 2007 is big, daring and unapologetically indulgent. And of course, the “it” looks straight from the runways do not come cheap, costing several thousands of dollars. However, the trends can be pieced together at a fraction of that price....

Michael’s Restaurant flops for breakfast, lunch

Author Archives

September 26, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Meher Ahmad <mahmad@hilite.org> In a sea of modern restaurants with an array of ethnic food and innovative ideas, it’s become increasingly hard to find old-fashioned family restaurants of times past. Michael’s Family Restaurant stands out from the crowd in this sense, but not much else. The ...

‘Champ’ proves smart, moving

Author Archives

September 7, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Jade Luo <jluo@hilite.org> The first scenes of “Resurrecting the Champ” feature a few college students beating up a homeless man. Great, I thought, a mindless boxing movie with a few bloody and broken noses in between. But, boy, was I in for a sweet surprise. “Resurrecting the ...

Mudbugs pales in comparison to Yats

Author Archives

September 7, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Bennett Fuson <bfuson@hilite.org> First off, a spoiler: Contrary to its rather suggestive reference, Mudbugs Cajun Café on Main Street has nothing to do with mud, bugs or any combination thereof. (Sorry, gross food connoisseurs. I’m sure you’ll find an alternative.) Apparently, “mudb...

New Pornographers’ album ‘Challengers’ change for better

Author Archives

September 7, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Mitch Ringenberg <mringenberg@hilite.org> The New Pornographers’ fourth release, “Challengers,” is an enjoyable, yet inconsistent, album. The New Pornographers are an eight-piece outfit from Vancouver, Canada, that released their debut, “Mass Romantic,” in 2000 to much critical acclai...

‘Death Sentence’ accurate title for awful movie

Author Archives

September 7, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Sam Watermeier <swatermeier@hilite.org> Death Sentence” is a return to the genre that exploded with 1972’s “Death Wish,” which starred Charles Bronson as a man who kills literally every thug on the street to avenge his family’s murder. In fact, “Death Sentence” is based on a bo...

Mudsocks satisfies variety of tastes

Author Archives

September 7, 2007


Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By: Reid Conner <rconner@hilite.org> Despite the fact that it is fairly new, Mudsocks Grill is a fun, delicious experience in an appealing environment. The first thing patrons will notice when they walk in the door is the large, square stone fireplace they have set in the middle of the waiting...

Yogokiss simple, refreshing

John Shi

August 13, 2007


Filed under Carmel Community, ENTERTAINMENT

Yogokiss is in every way a gastronomic experience in modernism. As I walk through the door, magazines arranged in a checkered pattern (with selections from Time to Glamour) hang on the wall to the left, and tiny hourglass-shaped stools in sets of three surround similarly small circular tables. In fact,...