HiLite

‘Body of Lies’ breaks spy thriller mold

Author Archives

October 20, 2008

By Sam Watermeier <swatermeier@hilite.org> Get ready for a new type of super spy: He's fat, old, bearded, and tired. Look out James Bond. I'm referring to the two main characters in "Body of Lies," the new thriller from master Ridley Scott ("Alien," "Blade Runner") written by Academy Aw...

National Scholastic Press Assocation features school publications

Author Archives

October 14, 2008

Both the Carmel High School HiLite newspaper and Pinnacle yearbook were featured in the latest issue of the National Scholastic Press Association’s annual publication, Best of the High School Press. The 150-page book highlights outstanding work from scholastic newspapers, magazines and yearbooks from...

Counselors to shorten college representative meetings

Author Archives

October 10, 2008

By Cathy Chen <cchen@hilite.org> The counseling center cut short the NYU college representative’s visit to CHS on Oct. 10 after complaints that students were using college visits to avoid class. According to counselor Rich Allen, this procedure does not constitute a policy, nor is it set i...

Freshman magazine sales convocation rescheduled to Oct. 15

Author Archives

October 8, 2008

By Erin Lowe <elowe@hilite.org> On Oct. 15 the freshmen will attend a convocation giving them information about the magazine sales. It was originally scheduled for Oct. 9 on the school calendar but was changed. Starting on Oct. 17, the students will encourage people to buy magazines in order...

School restores power after partial outages

Author Archives

October 8, 2008

By Amy Flis <aflis@hilite.org> At approximately 8:45 a.m. power came on in all parts of the building and the day will continue as normal. According to Principal John WIlliams in a school-wide announcement earlier in the day, the school had power outages in part of the school when studen...

Oct. 15 schedule revised for PSAT testing

Author Archives

October 6, 2008

By Cathy Chen <cchen@hilite.org> Only sophomores and juniors are scheduled to take the PSAT on Oct. 15, but all students will be on the same revised schedule. Bells will not ring during the testing periods, and there will be announcements only in the afternoon. The revised schedule is as fo...

JV men’s soccer team plays Zionsville on Oct. 3

sports

October 2, 2008

By Ryan Duffy <rduffy@hilite.org> The JV men’s soccer team wraps up its season Oct. 3 against Zionsville. The cost for admission is $3. Zach DiCarlo, sophomore forward, said he is happy with the success the team has had this season. “ Our team record is 9-0-1. We have played really well...

JV football team faces North Central on Oct. 4

sports

October 2, 2008

By Daniyal Habib <dhabib@hilite.org> The junior varsity football team will travel to North Central High School on Oct. 4 to face the Panthers in a Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference match-up. Junior and wide receiver Terry Chon said he likes what the team has done so far this year, and tha...

Women’s volleyball ready to make a comeback

sports

October 2, 2008

By Mackenzie Madison <mmadison@hilite.org> The Carmel Star printed an article on Aug. 12, 2008, that will forever be imprinted in their minds. The paper stated that the Carmel team had lost too many seniors to return to the state semifinals this year, but they are ready to prove them wrong. ...

High (School) Hopes

sports

October 2, 2008

By Daniyal Habib <dhabib@hilite.org> For 10,115 senior high school football players each year in America, a dream comes true. They receive a full-ride scholarship from a Division 1A school to play football. Sure, 10,115 is a big number, but 14,445 is even bigger. That is how many high schoo...

Men’s Tennis Beat

sports

October 2, 2008

By Tatum Outlaw <toutlaw@hilite.org> With the men's tennis season already underway, the Greyhounds start out with a great record. Varsity is undefeated with all singles and pairs playing at all time highs. "I think the team has really stepped it up this year in practices and in matches; it'...

Tennis team starts Sectional title bid Oct. 2

sports

October 2, 2008

By Tatum Outlaw <toutlaw@hilite.org> For the past 17 years the men’s tennis team has headed into the season with high hopes of taking home the Sectional title. This year is no different. With the Greyhounds going into the competition on Oct. 2 not having lost a match, chances are high. This year...