HiLite

Ambidexterity

Author Archives

October 31, 2007

By: Renny Logan <rlogan@hilite.org> Q&A with Colin Ray, a student who can use both his hands equally well When did you first realize you were ambidextrous? It was probably in preschool when my parents were trying to figure out if I was left or right-handed. I started doing some things...

Being left-handed for dummies

Author Archives

October 31, 2007

By: Ashley Elson <aelson@hilite.org> I was three years old when my dad bought one of those automatic baseball contraptions. I’m sure you would remember them – you step down on a button and the thing would make this horrible noise and then all of a sudden, the ball would pop up and you swing at...

It’s a right-handed world

Author Archives

October 31, 2007

By: Lexi Muir <lmuir@hilite.org> Bumping elbows with the person to her left, junior Erika Petruzzi struggles to write on the spiral notebook in front of her. Petruzzi has struggled with this her whole life. She struggles not because she has a disability, or a broken arm or similar disabilit...

Chained to Commitments

Author Archives

October 9, 2007

By: Erin Lowe <elowe@hilite.org> “I try to run every week to get back in shape for the spring season but when the season starts we practice four days a week. I love it,” rugby player and junior Mary Anne Gabinet said. For many students, the activity they participate in is very time co...

Without the limelight, with the interest

Author Archives

October 9, 2007

By: Rosemary Boeglin <rboeglin@hilite.org> FOOTBALL VIDEO MANAGER Q. Describe what it is that you do as the video manager for football. A. The role of the video managing crew is to film games and practices, capture them into our computers and enter them into our database. Being the senior in o...

Standing Out

Author Archives

September 26, 2007

By: Shireen Korkzan <skorkzan@hilite.org> Senior Chrissy Boesen says she feels like every other student here. However, unlike everyone else, she stands out more because of her unique hairstyle. At the beginning of summer break, Boesen had her mother buzz her hair all over while leaving her hair fully grown d...

Facing our fears

Author Archives

September 7, 2007

By: Renny Logan <rlogan@hilite.org> Alice Shen is just another sophomore. And just like all the other sophomores, she is required to take English 10-2, otherwise known as speech class. Likewise, she’s one of many who fear speaking in front of a large group of people. “I’m so nervous ...