HiLite

The ugly side of politics

perspectives
November 20, 2008
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Meher Ahmad <mahmad@hilite.org> This past election has been one of the most historically significant elections in America. The covers of every major magazine and newspaper can tell the average reader that. It has also been one of the most controversial elections in recent history. Read ...

Economic situation threatens dance ticket sales

perspectives
November 20, 2008
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Amy Flis <aflis@hilite.org> With performances of the “Nutcracker” fast approaching, dance companies around the country look forward to their biggest revenue-provider of the year. However, the economic downturn this year could spell trouble for the companies. Read More »...

Media Center hosts WRAP, prepares for ‘Twilight’ premier

News
November 20, 2008
Filed under NEWS

By Maria LaMagna <mlamagna@hilite.org> Throughout this month, the media center will continue its typical events, including its association with Writers, Readers, Artists, and Performers (WRAP). According to media specialist John Shearin, the relationship between the media center and this...

Key Club members prepare for holidays

Author Archives
November 20, 2008
Filed under NEWS

By Thalib Razi <trazi@hilite.org> On Dec. 2, Key Club will take club pictures at 10:20 a.m. in the varsity gym, and by the end of the year all members must have their required hours of community service for the club. Read More »...

Club photos to begin Nov. 18

Author Archives
November 12, 2008
Filed under Recent Updates

By Renny Logan <rlogan@hilite.org> Club and group photos for the yearbook have been scheduled between Nov. 18 and Dec. 2. Yearbook adviser Nicole Wilson said that students can obtain passes for their photos from the club sponsors. As the dates near, the club sponsors will receive these passes...

‘Role Models’ modeled after funnier movies

entertainment
November 6, 2008
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Bennett Fuson <bfuson@hilite.org> When I first saw the trailer for “Role Models,” the new Paul Rudd/Seann William Scott comedy about two energy-drink promoters who are sentenced to community service as youth mentors, I was beyond excited to see it on the big screen.  Rudd, who has subtl...

Across the States

studentsection
November 6, 2008
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Despite having been moved several times, student find ways to fit in By Susie Chen <susiechen@hilite.org> For sophomore Brogan Bunnell, this school -the largest in the state with over 4,000 students- seems exceptionally big, considering she was born in a town of fewer than 2,000 people. “C...

A Walk Down Memory Lane

acumen
November 6, 2008
Filed under Acumen

A look back at the way our school used to be through memories of former students and pictures from Pinnacle yearbooks through the years By Cassie Dugan and Julie Kippenbrock <cdugan@hilite.org, jkippenbrock@hilite.org> Generations come and generations go. Just a glance through some old yearbooks and one can ea...

Regardless of who wins, reform is needed

perspectives
November 6, 2008
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Bennett Fuson <bfuson@hilite.org> It’s over! For those uninterested in politics, take a quick moment to breathe a sigh of relief. No longer will you have to listen to endless sound bytes of Barack Obama promising change or John McCain preaching reform. No longer will you have to worry yo...

Swimming, diving teams look to dominate

sports
November 6, 2008
Filed under SPORTS

By Mackenzie Madison<mmadison@hilite.org> Swimmers are well known for being in a sport that takes a lot of time, effort and discipline, something a lot of teenagers don’t have; but, early morning practices, late night practices and then the long, all night meets and competitions constitute t...

Men’s basketball team hopes to build on last season’s success

sports
November 6, 2008
Filed under SPORTS, Winter Sports

By Tatum Outlaw <toutlaw@hilite.org> Last year the men’s basketball team went undefeated at home and went on to grasp a Sectional and Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference (MIC) championship with a 17-2 regular season record. This winter, the men’s team hopes to repeat the success of last se...

Senate sponsors Care-to-Share

News
November 6, 2008
Filed under NEWS

By Afra Hussain <ahussain@hilite.org> This year, starting this Tuesday and continuing until to Dec. 16, the Senate will sponsor the annual gift drive known as Care-to-Share. Student participation is not mandatory, but the Senate highly encourages it. While there is no monetary goal for Care-to-Share, acc...