HiLite

Where Film Criticism Belongs

Author Archives
April 3, 2009
Filed under BLOGS

People try too hard to attach a sense of purpose to film criticism. Coming from an aspiring film critic, this statement seems blasphemous, I know. Stick with me, though, I'll explain. For years, people have complained about film critics, calling them "film snobs" and overly negative people. First...

Orchestras depart for New York April 3

News
April 2, 2009
Filed under NEWS, News Briefs, Recent Updates

Orchestra students attending the spring break trip to New York will leave tomorrow. Students should meet at the school by 8 p.m. and depart by 9 p.m. on an overnight bus ride. Read More »...

Marching band recruits outsiders to fill holes in formation

studentsection
April 2, 2009
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

By Amanda Nguyen <anguyen@hilite.org> For non high school students, participating in a high school organization can be a frightening experience. This was the case for Tyler Walls, tuba player and junior, when first he joined the Carmel Marching Band in his eighth grade year. Read More »...

“I Love You, Man” easy to love with warm-hearted, feel-good humor

entertainment
April 2, 2009
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Mitch Ringenberg <mringenberg@hilite.org> “I Love You, Man” is the type of comedy that is almost impossible to dislike. Its two main stars are the kind of lovable, funny average Joes that moviegoers have grown accustomed to rooting for. Unlike most comedies in the genre, it has prot...

ComedySportz player shares tips, tricks for improv, stage presence and humor

studentsection
April 2, 2009
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Guest Columnist Laura Palmer There is nothing like the adrenaline rush you get before running onstage for a ComedySportz match. For me, it is almost impossible to rationalize the fact that I am going onstage for the next hour and a half with no idea as to what I’ll do or say Read More »...

Fame in the Internet Age

feature
April 2, 2009
Filed under FEATURE

Internet, social networks help aspiring artists promote music By Celina Wu <cwu@hilite.org> Sitting at the piano, senior Cadey Phipps experiments with different notes to find the right combination for the perfect melody. For her, the purpose of creating a new melody is to pair it with her own lyrics, making an original...

Advanced technology will change world

perspectives
April 2, 2009
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Tim Chai <tchai@hilite.org> Give me one of today’s now ubiquitous touch screen phones, and I’ll immediately hand it back with the prompt (and sometimes scathing) reply of “I can’t use this.” I don’t understand and frankly don’t want to learn how to work all of today’s devic...

Kyle Straub named Distinguished Grad

studentsection
April 2, 2009
Filed under NEWS

By Amy Flis <aflis@hilite.org> When senior Kyle Straub was called down to talk to Principal John Williams, he said he had no idea why he was there. “Honestly, I thought I was in trouble,” Straub said. “So when Principal Williams and (Assistant Principal Amy) Skeens-Benton told m...

Rugby Gaining Ground

sports
April 2, 2009
Filed under SPORTS, Spring Sports

By Maggie Brandenburg <mbrandenburg@hilite.org> Many Americans have long considered football to be the roughest contact sport in the country. But for senior Taylor Wagner, rugby, especially with its lack of padding, is far rougher. And Wagner, who plays both football and rugby, said he can...

In the Suitcase: Spring Break Edition

studentsection
April 2, 2009
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Alexander “Alex” Upwards, orchestra member and sophomore, dicusses the group’s upcoming NY trip By Jade Schwarting <jschwarting@hilite.org> Where: New York City When: Spring Break; April 3 to 9 Why: Orchestra competition against five other high schools from across the nation in...

Experience will be key to lead team in tournament run

sports
April 2, 2009
Filed under SPORTS, Spring Sports

By Faith Mwalwa <fmwalwa@hilite.org> As the varsity baseball team attempts to pick up its first Sectional championship since 2000, it will look to the ability and experience of the team’s leaders to garner a long-awaited playoff run. Although the team lost some key players to graduation...

Men’s lacrosse staying focused for season

sports
April 2, 2009
Filed under SPORTS, Spring Sports

By David Zheng <dzheng@hilite.org> This school’s men’s lacrosse team has been doing well this season and will play against Westfield at Westfield’s field tonight. The junior varsity game starts at 5:30 p.m. and the varsity game starts at 7:30 p.m. “Westfield is usually a pretty tough...