HiLite

Troops to teachers

acumen
October 3, 2008
Filed under Acumen

Military veteran teachers incorporate military experiences into teaching methods By Rebecca Xu <rxu@hilite.org> Dale Yessak. Pete O’Hara. Dawn Laumeyer. Doug Bird. These four people don’t seem to have much in common besides the fact that they work here. One teaches English, one teaches soci...

Thinking outside the weight room

feature
October 3, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

Pilates offers indirect benefits to regular exercise regimen By Celina Wu <cwu@hilite.org> In the comfort of her home, junior Laura Karn begins her daily Pilates routine. She does various stretches, including ones called the butterfly and the pike sit. More traditional excercises such as ...

Women facing more dangers in military

acumen
October 3, 2008
Filed under Acumen

By Ellie Seta <eseta@hilite.org> In 2003 the Department of Defense (DOD) report found that one-third of women veterans who sought health care benefits from the Veterans Administration (VA) reported that they had experienced rape at some time during their service. Of the one-third who said...

Hidden Truth

feature
October 3, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

Student with dyslexia adjusts to teachers' different methods By Lexi Muir <lmuir@hilite.org> As senior Avery Hollenback stares at the questions on her Algebra II test, she reads over each question, as well as her answers, four to five times. It’s not because she doesn’t know the answer, or even because she is double-checking ...

Against the Grain

15min
October 3, 2008
Filed under 15 MINUTES OF FAME

Freshman Levi Kiser falls against the stereotypes of a typical Carmel student by living on a family farm with many types of animals By Tommy Sneider <tsneider@hilite.org> How did you end up working on the farm? My grandpa used to run it, and then he died of lung cancer, and so my dad took over...

Recent Southern weather reminds Carmel to take precautions

feature
October 3, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

CHS has plan for disaster situations By Kelsey Binion <kbinion@hilite.org> For sophomore Elizabeth Russell, being prepared for severe weather is something that isn’t an option for her family. While Russell lives here in Carmel, her relatives have been through two hurricanes and many floods, inclu...

Honk For Trees

studentsection
October 3, 2008
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Students protest against construction, make impact on environment By Jade Schwarting <jschwarting@hilite.org> Like many others in Carmel, freshman Devon McVey and eight of her neighborhood friends got tired of the closed roads and forested areas being cut down due to construction. Diffe...

‘Death Magnetic’ not flop, marks return to Metallica’s roots

entertainment
October 3, 2008
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Renny Logan <rlogan@hilite.org> Since its first demo “No Life ’Til Leather,” Metallica has etched itself in the stone tablets of heavy metal history. Emerging in 1981, Metallica established its niche as one of the “Big Four” pioneering bands of a metal subgenre known as thrash....

‘Lakeview Terrace’ breaks genre limits

entertainment
October 3, 2008
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Sam Watermeier <swatermeier@hilite.org> Based on the preview, “Lakeview Terrace” looks like a typical, hackneyed, suspense thriller. The trailer shows Samuel L. Jackson as corrupt cop Abel Turner stalking and taunting his next-door neighbors, Chris Mattson (Patrick Wilson) and his African A...

Out of the Locker

studentsection
October 3, 2008
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Junior Cassandra “Cassie” Wild tells all through the contents of her locker Compiled by Tracy Sun and Jinny Zhang <tsun@hilite.org>, <jzhang@hilite.org> Disney Princess Notepad: “My friends and I write notes on it. It’s just really cool in general.” Disney Princess ...

Palin politics cause concern

perspectives
October 3, 2008
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Bennett Fuson <bfuson@hilite.org> I generally try to take everything in stride, but over the last few weeks something has been bothering me that I just can’t shake. This has absolutely nothing to do with me, but almost everything to do with my future. It’s funny how sometimes if you...

School takes additional steps toward safer campus

News
October 3, 2008
Filed under NEWS

By Michelle Yun <myun@hilite.org> Walking past groups of students in crowded hallways, sophomore Megan Olson said she sometimes gets a nervous feeling and wonders if she is always safe. So for students like Olson, the school’s decision to hire two new police officers this year is good news. Thi...