Your source for CHS news

HiLite

Women’s volleyball ready to make a comeback

sports
October 2, 2008
Filed under Online Only, SPORTS

By Mackenzie Madison <mmadison@hilite.org> The Carmel Star printed an article on Aug. 12, 2008, that will forever be imprinted in their minds. The paper stated that the Carmel team had lost too many seniors to return to the state semifinals this year, but they are ready to prove them wrong. ...

Practice squad ensures long-term success

sports
October 2, 2008
Filed under SPORTS

By Faith Mwalwa <fmwalwa@hilite.org> As if on cue, the men in gold, white and blue dutifully march their way onto the upper field from the stadium area. The heat bears down and gives the air a sticky quality as they all keep their eyes trained on the upper field. They keep straight, complian...

Sophomores, juniors to take PSAT on Oct. 15

frontpage
October 2, 2008
Filed under NEWS

By Beverly Jenkins <bjenkins@hilite.org>  On Oct. 15, most sophomores and juniors will report to their assigned testing rooms to take the PSAT exam. The exam holds importance for all taking it, according to Assistant Principal Ronda Eshleman. For juniors, it will prepare them for the regul...

Banned Books Week gives chance to examine literary censorship

Author Archives
October 2, 2008
Filed under NEWS

By Maria LaMagna <mlamagna@hilite.org> This week the media center sponsors Banned Books Week. It began Sunday and ends tomorrow. Following this week, on Monday and Tuesday, media center specialist Bonnie Grimble said that English teachers may bring their classes to the media center to discuss ...

Diversity celebrated with 27th annual Banned Books week

Author Archives
September 29, 2008
Filed under Recent Updates

By Lauren Burdick <lburdick@hilite.org> This school will celebrate its freedom to read and the many possibilities books bring during Banned Books Week from Sept. 27 to Oct. 4. This year’s theme is “Closing books shuts out ideas, limits understanding, closes possibilities.” Read More »...

Social networking sites put teens at increased risk for identity theft

Author Archives
September 11, 2008
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By HiLite Staff On television last year, Todd Davis, the CEO of LifeLock, a company whose intent was to protect clients from identity theft, posted his social security number, 457-55-5462, for a commercial. According to the commercial, that really is his number, and Davis challenged viewers to ste...

Beijing Olympics bring to light Constitutional rights

Author Archives
September 11, 2008
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Amy Flis <aflis@hilite.org> The coming Constitution Day on Wednesday provides a timely opportunity for Americans to reflect on their rights, especially those made prominent by various controversies during the recent Olympic games. Read More »...

Fitting with the Culture

Author Archives
September 11, 2008
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

While some Greyhounds feel the cultural gap, some are comfortable with intercultural mingling By Erum Rizvi <erizvi@hilite.org> For senior Michael Mestetsky, having a discussion with his parent’s sounds different than the usual conversation teenagers have with their parents here in America. Although he might be getting congratulated on a grade in his ...

Freshman men’s soccer team to miss out on some events

Author Archives
September 11, 2008
Filed under SPORTS

Hounds must play at Brownsburg, which conflicts with football game that night By Daniyal Habib <dhabib@hilite.org> Students who flip to the week of Sept. 8 in their Pathways will notice that Friday is marked with the word “Homecoming.” What they may not notice is that the Homecoming ...

Scoop on prices, styles of local salons, spas

Author Archives
September 11, 2008
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Meher Ahmad <mahmad@hilite.org> DAVID & MARY: SALON AND SPA Price Range: starting from $75 for an updo Atmosphere: The reason this salon costs substantially more than most is the atmosphere it has created. Situated in the middle of Clay Terrace, customers can believe they a...

New teachers affect top level world language students

Author Archives
September 11, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

By Celina Wu <cwu@hilite.org> While seated quietly at her desk, senior Lena Gerber formulates a response to a question written on the board. Recording an entry like this in her journal, or tagesbuch, has become a regular exercise that Gerber completes every Monday during her German V class. ...

A shot at one more

sports
September 10, 2008
Filed under SPORTS

Several Hounds push to follow up national title with State ring By Ryan Duffy <rduffy@hilite.org> The Carmel men’s soccer team is off to a great start so far this season and hopes to continue its success tonight against Noblesville. The game starts at 7 p.m. at Noblesville High School...