HiLite

  • HiLite Online will resume generating content once the 2018-19 school year begins on Aug. 14.

All the Single Ladies

entertainment
February 6, 2009
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Meher Ahmad <mahmad@hilite.org> It can be said with certainty that high school is one of the most traumatic times of any adolescence. Making friends, fitting in, wearing the right clothes, talking the right way, the list goes on. The most traumatic of this laundry list of traumas? Dating. ...

New year’s resolutions prove easy to make, more difficult to keep

Author Archives
January 29, 2009
Filed under FEATURE

By Beverly Jenkins <bjenkins@hilite.org> For junior Jennifer Hosek, the end of the 2008 year was also an end to another failed attempt toward keeping a New Year's resolution. Hosek, who has been making resolutions annually for quite some time, always looks forward to accomplishing her goal...

Cheerleaders look to light up winter season

sports
January 23, 2009
Filed under SPORTS, Winter Sports

By Tatum Outlaw toutlaw@hilite.org Ashlyn East, varsity cheerleader and sophomore, has participated in both football and basketball cheerleading over the two years that she has attended this school. “Both football and basketball cheer have their strong points but they’re definitely different,” ...

More Cup than Cake

entertainment
January 23, 2009
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Lexi Muir <lmuir@hilite.org> The art of cupcake baking is a sacred one. The secret to a great cupcake is to add the perfect amount of creativity to the flavor and look of the cupcake and combining it into one small and dainty treat! Cupcakes are perfect for any occasion; whether it’s a birthday, a wedding, a holiday or even just Wednesday after...

Pet Neglect Growing Problem

studentsection
January 23, 2009
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Incidents of ignoring animals far outnumber incidents involving abuse By Darlene Pham <dpham@hilite.org > Freshman Jessica “Ashley” Appleton once owned two cats, two gerbils, a hamster, a guinea pig, two fire-belly toads, a crayfish and 300 fish. However, none of the mentioned animals are a...

Teachers should be held accountable for job performance

perspectives
January 23, 2009
Filed under PERSPECTIVES

By Michelle Hu <mhu@hilite.org> There are quite a few successful Michelles in the world now – Kwan, the figure skater; Wie, the golfer; Obama, the First Lady; and now, Rhee, the educative administrator. She’s the current chancellor of Washington D.C. schools, and has almost completely shifted...

Faces of sports special edition: The costs of sports-Mark Fennerty

sports
January 23, 2009
Filed under SPORTS, Winter Sports

By Faith Mwalwa <fmwalwa@hilite.org> Six days a week, two and a half hours a day, guard and sophomore Mark Fennerty participates in intensive practices in preparation for the upcoming junior varsity basketball game. Just like every other sport here, the players must also work hard and pra...

The Amazing Comic World of Kevin Anderson

15min
January 23, 2009
Filed under 15 MINUTES OF FAME

  Senior Kevin Anderson uses his artistic skills to draw his very own science fiction comic book By Tommy Sneider <tsneider@hilite.org>  How did you get interested in drawing comic books?  Sam (Watermeier) just told me the idea for the comic he wanted to write and I thought that do...

Superintendent to propose significant budget cuts Monday

News
January 23, 2009
Filed under NEWS

By Brittani Wheeler <bwheeler@hilite.org> With authorization from the school board, Superintendent Barbara Underwood has drafted a plan to reduce about $1.5 million of the approximately $90 million general fund district budget affecting all grade levels and the central office for the 2009-2010 s...

The Rising Costs of Raising an Athlete

sports
January 23, 2009
Filed under SPORTS, Winter Sports

By Maggie Brandenburg <mbrandenburg@hilite.org> Say you were to sift through varsity swimmer Carly Marshall’s athletic locker. You would probably find a towel “that hasn’t been washed for at least two weeks,” a practice swim suit, a swim cap, goggles, dry land clothes and a pair...

CHTV gears up for telethon, televising auditorium events

Author Archives
January 23, 2009
Filed under Online Only

By Tommy Sneider <tsneider@hilite.org> While the usual business for CHTV includes televising school events as well as morning announcements, one of the main events of the year is coming right up. The Carmel Clay Education Foundation (CCEF) Telethon, which helps provide money for teacher grant...

Modern art forms are affected by increasing multiculturalism

15min
January 23, 2009
Filed under 15 MINUTES OF FAME

By Mallory St. Claire <mstclaire@hilite.org>    Junior Méghane Masquelin moved from France to America four years ago.  Here, she takes art classes and is enrolled in the IB course program.  Her art projects combine African and Indian elements, and she is currently working on a draw...