HiLite

Txtng Protocol

feature
October 17, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

By Maddi Bourgerie <mbourgerie@hilite.org> When junior Kelly Quinn is with friends she expects it to be a time to talk, catch up and hang out. The last thing she wants to see her friends doing during this time, she said, is sending text messages. “When my friends text while they are hanging out with me,...

‘Blindness’ loses sight with excessive violence

entertainment
October 17, 2008
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Mitch Ringenberg <mringenberg@hilite.org> “Blindness,” the new film by acclaimed director Fernando Meirelles, is an intelligent and thought-provoking film, but not one for the squeamish. “Blindness” is based on a novel of the same name by José Saramago, who won the Nobel Prize f...

Counselors to shorten college representative meetings

Author Archives
October 10, 2008
Filed under Online Only, Recent Updates

By Cathy Chen <cchen@hilite.org> The counseling center cut short the NYU college representative’s visit to CHS on Oct. 10 after complaints that students were using college visits to avoid class. According to counselor Rich Allen, this procedure does not constitute a policy, nor is it set i...

Oct. 15 schedule revised for PSAT testing

Author Archives
October 6, 2008
Filed under Online Only, Recent Updates

By Cathy Chen <cchen@hilite.org> Only sophomores and juniors are scheduled to take the PSAT on Oct. 15, but all students will be on the same revised schedule. Bells will not ring during the testing periods, and there will be announcements only in the afternoon. The revised schedule is as fo...

Troops to teachers

acumen
October 3, 2008
Filed under Acumen

Military veteran teachers incorporate military experiences into teaching methods By Rebecca Xu <rxu@hilite.org> Dale Yessak. Pete O’Hara. Dawn Laumeyer. Doug Bird. These four people don’t seem to have much in common besides the fact that they work here. One teaches English, one teaches soci...

Thinking outside the weight room

feature
October 3, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

Pilates offers indirect benefits to regular exercise regimen By Celina Wu <cwu@hilite.org> In the comfort of her home, junior Laura Karn begins her daily Pilates routine. She does various stretches, including ones called the butterfly and the pike sit. More traditional excercises such as ...

Women facing more dangers in military

acumen
October 3, 2008
Filed under Acumen

By Ellie Seta <eseta@hilite.org> In 2003 the Department of Defense (DOD) report found that one-third of women veterans who sought health care benefits from the Veterans Administration (VA) reported that they had experienced rape at some time during their service. Of the one-third who said...

Hidden Truth

feature
October 3, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

Student with dyslexia adjusts to teachers' different methods By Lexi Muir <lmuir@hilite.org> As senior Avery Hollenback stares at the questions on her Algebra II test, she reads over each question, as well as her answers, four to five times. It’s not because she doesn’t know the answer, or even because she is double-checking ...

Against the Grain

15min
October 3, 2008
Filed under 15 MINUTES OF FAME

Freshman Levi Kiser falls against the stereotypes of a typical Carmel student by living on a family farm with many types of animals By Tommy Sneider <tsneider@hilite.org> How did you end up working on the farm? My grandpa used to run it, and then he died of lung cancer, and so my dad took over...

Recent Southern weather reminds Carmel to take precautions

feature
October 3, 2008
Filed under FEATURE

CHS has plan for disaster situations By Kelsey Binion <kbinion@hilite.org> For sophomore Elizabeth Russell, being prepared for severe weather is something that isn’t an option for her family. While Russell lives here in Carmel, her relatives have been through two hurricanes and many floods, inclu...

Honk For Trees

studentsection
October 3, 2008
Filed under STUDENT SECTION

Students protest against construction, make impact on environment By Jade Schwarting <jschwarting@hilite.org> Like many others in Carmel, freshman Devon McVey and eight of her neighborhood friends got tired of the closed roads and forested areas being cut down due to construction. Diffe...

‘Death Magnetic’ not flop, marks return to Metallica’s roots

entertainment
October 3, 2008
Filed under ENTERTAINMENT

By Renny Logan <rlogan@hilite.org> Since its first demo “No Life ’Til Leather,” Metallica has etched itself in the stone tablets of heavy metal history. Emerging in 1981, Metallica established its niche as one of the “Big Four” pioneering bands of a metal subgenre known as thrash....