CHS publications students earn awards at annual CSPA convention

Author Archives

Carmel High School student journalists earned individual Gold Circle Awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA). The awards, which judge individual achievement in several different categories, were announced at the CSPA’s spring convention, which concluded on March 21. According to the CSPA Web site, “Gold Circle Awards are offered to recognize superior work by student journalists usually as individuals but sometimes as an entire staff working with either print or online media.”

The individual winners from newspaper may include work from the current school year, while the yearbook awards recognize entries included in the 2007 publication. The Carmel award-winners are as follows (students are currently on staff unless otherwise noted):

Staff – first place, advertising design (full-page multiple advertisements)
Staff – third place, overall design (broadsheet)
Matt Kanitra – honorable mention, advertising design (quarter-page black-and-white)
David Joest – honorable mention, sports design (broadsheet four-color)
Staff – honorable mention, information graphics (text, pullout, at-a-glance boxes)
John Shi and Nancy Tan – honorable mention, news page design (broadsheet black-and-white)

Hena Ahmed – first place, advertising spread (people ads)
Staff – third place, headline writing
Allison Farrer (Purdue University) and Lauren Reising (Indiana University) – honorable mention, division page design
Staff – honorable mention, use of graphics (informational graphics)
Amanda Burkert and Allison Farrer, honorable mention, color spread